Know more about : Mark Steinhobel

Mark Steinhobel is the founder and Chairman of the VWV Group, one of South Africa’s leading experiential communication specialists. Steinhobel founded VWV in 1981, and today the company is well renowned as the leading brand experience agency, with offices in Johannesburg, Cape Town, Dallas, Chicago, Texas and satellite offices in Lagos and Nairobi. Its mandate is to create experiences that transform perceptions and inspire actions by integrating events, digital and audio visual solutions.

The Group has long been recognised for its excellent creative quality both here and abroad, and holds the accolade of most awarded specialist agency in Loeries history. VWV is one of only three agencies to have ever scooped two Loerie Grands Prix awards three times. Steinhobel was personally involved in four of the nine campaigns as executive producer or director that went on to win the Grands Prix awards. The brand was also responsible for the internationally broadcast Opening and Closing Ceremonies of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Steinhobel’s passion for the industry has seen him actively serving on local and international boards such as the Loeries Committee for 14 years, the board of the Direct Marketing Association for two years, the board of the National Film & Television Association for four years, and two years on the board of the American Association for Multi Media International (AMI) in the USA – including one term as President. Steinhobel is also a founding member on the governing body of Vega School of Branding.
Steinhobel is regularly called upon as a spokesperson for the local industry, and is highly regarded and acknowledged as an expert on the subject of experiential communications. He has presented at a host of local and international conferences and has chaired and served many times on numerous award juries, including the Loeries, the DMA Assegai Awards, the NTVA Awards, the Raptor Awards for sponsorship, the Cannes Lions, and the One Award in New York. In 2009 Steinhobel was prestigiously selected to the Hall of Fame of the Technical Producer’s Association of South Africa (TPSA).